Spotlight with Emily Tuffey

Emily Tuffey, Pacific University

Name: Emily Tuffey

Hometown: Valencia, Ca

School: Pacific University

Major: Sociology

Sport: Soccer

Position: Outside mid, forward

Family: Mom, dad, older sister

Twitter handle: @emtuffey

Instagram: @emilyyrose

Favorite Food: Sushi

Favorite Movie: American Sniper, The Internship, Pitch Perfect 2

Biggest role model: My sister

Favorite athlete: Sydney Leroux, Blake Griffin

Favorite artist and genre of music: Florida Georgia Line, country

Favorite book: Seriously…I’m Kidding by Ellen Degeneres

Any pets: Black Lab, Gracie May

Hobbies outside of sports: Photography, Hiking, Traveling

If you could have lunch with 3 people, dead or alive, who would they be and why?

– Sydney Leroux because he story is truly inspiring and I love watching her play soccer. She is a great role model for all women soccer players no matter the age.

– David Stroud, because he left this Earth way too soon. He had an infectious laugh and could light up a room in seconds. He loves chocolate chip cookies just as much as I do and I would do anything to be able to eat a few while play Wii with him just one last time. I miss him dearly.

– The Queen of England! Because how awesome would it be to have a cup of tea with the Queen and talk about her responsibilities and all the changes she has seen in the world since she has been Queen. This would be a dream come true!

Most thrilling/ adventurous thing you have ever done?

– Zip lining through Jamaica because how sketchy does that sound? And it was! I am very afraid of heights and although it was terrifying it was so much fun and I might consider doing it all over again!

Favorite way to unwind? -Listen to music and go for a run or bike ride with my puppy.

If you could change jobs with anyone for a day, who would it be and why? -A National Geographic photographer, because ultimately shooting for National Geographic would be a dream that would allow me to travel to places I would have never dreamed of going to.

What is one thing that most people don’t know about you? -I am claustrophobic and I’m scared of the dark

What is one trait about yourself you wish other people knew before they met you -I’m a lovable person

If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be? -Big Island of Hawaii or Laguna Beach, Ca

What is your most embarrassing moment? -The multiple times I have almost or have peed my pants laughing

If you could back in time to any point in history, what would it be? -1920’s to a simpler way of living before technology took off, I think it would be an interesting and enlightening time to visit.

What is your typical day like and how do you find ways to manage your time? -I usually wake up and make breakfast. Go to class or work depending on the time of year, take a nap, work out, make dinner and then either do some homework or relax and watch a TV show.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years? -Working a full-time job that I truly enjoy living in either California or Hawaii while also coaching girls soccer.

Describe yourself in 3 words. -Fun, loving, enthusiastic

What are you passionate about? -My family, My friends, Soccer, Photography, doing what makes me happy, brining happiness to others, and making my parents and sister proud.

Who is your inspiration? -My parents; although I do not give them nearly the credit they deserve they gave me a wonderful childhood with as many possibilities as I could ever imagine. They encouraged me and drove me to be the very best, most thoughtful and kindhearted person I could be. I find myself doing things on a daily basis in order to make them proud. One day I will be able to repay them for all they have done for me, one day I will take THEM on a vacation of a lifetime just as they have done for me many times. I also admire their constant love for each other, I strive to be just like them as I grow up.

What is the best advice you have ever received? -Don’t let yourself and your own mind get in the way of your goals.

Who are two people you cant live without? -Three, my parents and sister.

What is the number one quality you look for in a best friend? -Trustworthiness

What is one skill you wish you could improve on? -My people skills, I don’t like being uncomfortable so I often avoid situations where I may have to talk to people I don’t know or anything that has the potential to be uncomfortable really.

What do you do to pass the time on road trips? -Watch movies, listen to music or sleep

Which athlete would you compare yourself to? -That’s tough, I don’t know that I can be compared to an athlete, I am very much my own player I’m driven yet lazy, I’m focused yet distracted.

What advice can you give to young athletes who are trying to play at the next level? -Put in the work, because you don’t want to look back at any moment in time and think if I just worked harder or put in more hours like the others who succeeded I could have been better.

What is your biggest accomplishment in sports thus far? -Being player of the game for a game that we lost, but put up the toughest battle of the season. It was a hard game and we didn’t get the outcome we wanted, but as a leader on the team I was told I motivated my teammates to play hard and for each other and I did my part.

What motivates you? -Being told I cant do something. I thrive off of statements like those, I love proving people wrong.

IMG_4469

Leave a comment